Former pros Eisel, Gasparotto and Schmidt join new-look Bora-Hansgrohe

Former pros Eisel, Gasparotto and Schmidt join new-look Bora-Hansgrohe

Bernhard Eisel, Enrico Gasparotto and Torsten Schmidt are heading to Bora-Hansgrohe as sports directors in 2022, bolstering the team’s management under incoming ex-serviceman head Rolf Aldag.

“I look forward to the next season, ” Eisel wrote on social media. “Thanks a lot for the trust, and I know that the bar is set very high already. Pressure is on.”

In his 19 -year career, Eisel carved out a reputation as one of the most valued domestiques in the peloton, working for the likes of Mark Cavendish in classics and Grand Tours, while also taking 16 victories of his own. Since retiring in 2019, the Austrian has been a familiar face on Eurosport/ GCN, stirring utilize of his race suffer and intimate tactical knowledge.

Gasparotto is another recent retiree who joins former teammate Eisel( both raced for Team Dimension Data in 2019) in the team car. The two-time Amstel Gold winner simply hung up his wheels at the end of 2020, and moved straight into the role of deputy sport director at the continental team Nippo-Provence-PTS.

“Here “theres going” !! ” Gasparatto wrote on Instagram. “Looking forward to kick off properly the brand-new year and to live this new experience. Let’s create remembrances together.”

Torsten Schmidt was also a pro equestrian until 2007, with 13 wins to his name, most of them on German soil. Since adjourn, Schmidt has worked behind the scenes at Team CSC, Leopard-Trek, Katusha and the Swiss National Team.

The three new directors join Bora-Hansgrohe as the team undergoes a fairly significant shakeup. This wintertime, the German WorldTour outfit says farewell to two of its most prolific winners, with Pascal Ackermann headed to UAE Team Emirates, and Peter Sagan taking a small entourage with him to Team TotalEnergies.

The recruitment of Eisel, Gasparotto and Schmidt follows a torrent of brand-new equestrians include climbers Aleksandr Vlasov, Sergio Higuita and Jai Hindley, with Marco Haller, Ryan Mullen and Danny van Poppel joining Sam Bennett’s sprint squad.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by BORA- hansgrohe (@ borahansgrohe )

Read More

Read more:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *